Mind over Matter

So yesterday was my birthday, which included a full day of dancing as per usual. Honestly, I would not have it any other way. Some days full of dancing are really rough; taxing on the body and on the mind. When every movement you make is constantly analyzed and your body is viewed in such a vulnerable state, it is often hard not to be over critical and beat yourself up about anything you do wrong. However, yesterday I decided to take a different approach. I let myself be in the moment and enjoy the fact that I am alive, that I am dancing, that I am able to do what I love right now in this moment. Really that is all that matters. Changing my attitude for the day, made me have much more fun than I have been feeling lately with my over-critical mindset. Did I do everything perfectly? No. Did I land every pirouette in ballet class? No. I did not enjoy myself more because everything was perfect. Honestly, nothing is ever perfect. It is all about the way you approach things and what you are telling yourself up there in your mind. If you tell yourself everything is bad and wrong, well it is going to be bad and wrong.

Your mind is such a powerful thing, and I believe it is time we started using it to spread positivity. I feel like it has become a recent trend to be negative and hate on people or things in popular media and society these days. Even to the point where teen clothing features written statements of negative context. I don’t know why this has become the new ‘thing’, other than the fact that it is easier to be negative and focus on all of the things that go wrong, and all of the things that you don’t have, but there is so much to be grateful for! When you can appreciate the little things, you realize that the bad things really aren’t so bad. That is what I did yesterday, and that is why it was a great day. So this is what I challenge you to do. Even just for one day, look at the world with a positive mind and turn off those negative thoughts that stem from the little you inside your head. See where the day takes you!

~Victoria

 

 

3 thoughts on “Mind over Matter

  1. This blog seriously hits home for me. As someone who overthinks everything, my mind can sometimes get the better of my but think positively truly helps!

    Like

  2. This is beautiful! And inspirational for everyone and not just dancers! Remaining positive while knowing that not everything can be perfect is key! Keep up the hard work and always remember to not beat yourself up too harshly 🙂

    Like

  3. I grew up a dancer, and it breaks my heart somedays that I didn’t pursue it. But I’ve discovered yoga as a nice outlet when I miss the intense physical practice of ballet. I always tell myself though, that if I don’t fall during class then I wasn’t trying hard enough! Hope you had a wonderful birthday full of imperfections…pushing our limits is really the only way we can grow. Stay inspired!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

